Tags

, , ,

Having recently returned from a work trip in Italy, it has made me reflect on how truly special the fruits of my land are. Recipes and ingredients that I feel I have somewhat taken for granted whilst growing up in Italy have been a joy to share with customers who are new to the Italian way and it gives me a great sense of pride to see through fresh eyes how impressed people are with Italian food and cooking. Helping people to fall in love with a lifestyle and ingredients that I am in love with has been a very pleasurable experience.

A great example of this is when I took my guests to a mozzarella factory where they were able to make mozzarella with their own hands. Apart from being a fun process and a great day, the mozzarella tasted fantastic! Italian mozzarella made with buffalo milk is a premium cheese, with a richer and creamier taste and texture than one made with cow’s milk.

When I was a boy growing up, my grandmother used to collect a fresh mozzarella every day from a seller in Arsita. So, to me, it is an everyday ingredient, almost comparable to a staple like bread or butter. When I saw the reaction from the customers in Italy, I was filled with pride as this simple ingredient that I grew up with, was rated as such a quality, authentic ingredient to others.

It’s because of these experiences that I am finding it very cathartic to get down all of my Italian food knowledge and research on paper. Once this is done, I will be incredibly excited to start presenting it here on the ‘Chef’s Blog’, so watch this space!

Mozzarella

